Bill Nichols

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Adam Scott to play HP Byron Nelson, joining Mickelson, Els and Harrington

The HP Byron Nelson Championship got another strong commitment on Wednesday, landing popular Australian Adam Scott for the May 17-20 event at the TPC Four Seasons at Las Colinas.

Scott, the 2008 Nelson champion, tied for eighth in 2006 and missed the cut in 2009. He has skipped the past two Nelsons.

Scott, No. 12 in the Official World Golf Ranking, joins a marquee group that includes Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els, Padraig Harrington, Jason Day, Matt Kuchar and defending champ Keegan Bradley.

The additions of Harrington and Els have been the biggest surprises. This will be Harrington's first Nelson appearance. The three-time major champion has two top-10s in seven PGA Tour starts this season. Els, also a three-time major winner, claimed the 1995 Nelson by three strokes.

Other recent Nelson commitments include 2003 British Open champion Ben Curtis, winner of last week’s Valero Texas Open, and Jason Dufner, runner-up to 2011 Nelson champ Bradley at last year’s PGA Championship. Ticket info:

No comments:

Post a Comment