Bill Nichols

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Handicapping the Masters field

Who will win the Masters?

Good question. Here is my handicapping of the entire field. Top 20 are listed in projected order with last three finishes and comment:

Player                  2011      2010   2009       Comment

1. Phil Mickelson   T-27    Win        5            Lefty’s risks are rewarded at Augusta
P. Mickelson
2. Hunter Mahan     Cut     T-8      T-10        Will DFW have No.1 player?
H. Mahan
3. Rory McIlroy      T-15   DNP    T-20        Led after 1st, 2nd, 3rd rounds last year
R. McIlroy
4. Tiger Woods        T-4      T-4      T-6        No wins since 2005 but 7 top-10s
T. Woods
5. Lee Westwood    T-11      2        43          Only 2 top-10s in 12 Masters
L. Westwood
6. Luke Donald         T-4      Cut     T-38       World No. 1 overdue for major win
L. Donald
7. Keegan Bradley     DNP    DNP   DNP      Nine top-25s, 3 top-10s in 2012
K. Bradley
8. Jason Day              T-2       DNP   DNP     Two-time major runner-up last year
J. Day
9. Justin Rose            T-11     DNP     T-20     Best finish T-5 in 2007
J. Rose
10. Matt Kuchar       T-27      T-24   DNP       Top-10s in last three Tour starts
M. Kuchar
11. Adam Scott         T-2      T-18     Cut        Shot 67 in final 2 rounds to contend last year

12. Charl Schwartzel  Win     T-30    DNP      Birdied final 4 holes to win last year

13. Steve Stricker         T-11  T-30    T-6       Top-25s in all 4 majors in 2011

14. Graeme McDowell  Cut    Cut     T-17       Former U.S. Open champ 2nd at Bay Hill

15. Sergio Garcia           T-45   T-35  T-38      Only 2 top-10s in 13 starts

16. Bo Van Pelt             T-8    DNP    DNP     Finished T-8 in 4 of last 25 Tour starts

17. Bill Haas                 T-42    T-26   DNP      Win, T-4 in last 6 Tour starts

18. Webb Simpson        DNP   DNP  DNP       First Masters after breakout season

19. Martin Kaymer          Cut    Cut    Cut          Ten wins worldwide since 2006

20. Jason Dufner             T-30  DNP  DNP       Top-15 in 4 of 8 starts this year


Aaron Baddeley

Sang-moon Bae

Thomas Bjorn

Jonathan Byrd

Angel Cabrera

Paul Casey

K.J. Choi

Fred Couples

Rickie Fowler

Jim Furyk

Robert Garrigus

Peter Hanson

Charles Howell III

Trevor Immelman

Miguel Angel Jimenez

Zach Johnson

Martin Laird

Francesco Molinari

Kevin Na

Ryan Palmer

Ian Poulter

John Senden

Brandt Snedeker

Henrik Stenson

David Toms

Johnson Wagner

Nick Watney

Mark Wilson

Gary Woodland


Kevin Chappell

Ben Crane

Harrison Frazar

Lucas Glover

Padraig Harrington

Ryo Ishikawa

Fredrik Jacobson

Robert Karlsson

Geoff Ogilvy

Sean O'Hair

Louis Oosthuizen

Alvaro Quiros

Chez Reavie

Rory Sabbatini

Vijay Singh

Kyle Stanley

Brendan Steele

Scott Verplank

Y.E. Yang

Bubba Watson


Patrick Cantlay

Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano

Stewart Cink

Tim Clark

Darren Clarke

Simon Dyson

Ross Fisher

Anders Hansen

Kyung-Tae Kim

Kelly Kraft

Paul Lawrie

Randal Lewis

Bryden Macpherson

Hideki Matsuyama

Corbin Mills

Jose Maria Olazabal

Mark O'Meara

Craig Stadler

Scott Stallings

Mike Weir

Ian Woosnam


Ben Crenshaw

Bernhard Langer

Sandy Lyle

Larry Mize

Tom Watson


No comments:

Post a Comment